Drawing a Blank….

This entire week I have been trying to think of something to write about in relation to food that attempts to evoke some question or concern.  I am still drawing a blank so I suppose I will talk about the first thing that comes to my mind and how it relates to food.  Ready?  Cats… I love cats.  It is my favorite animal and I care greatly about my own cat Neo.  When the idea of what goes into the production of cat food came up in class, I was utterly jealous that I did not think of it.  I try to keep my cat healthy, but I also tend to spoil him with treats.  What I am wondering is whether they have a specified nutritional diet for cats like they do humans.  We have a two thousand calorie diet in our nutritional facts, so what is the equivalent for a cat?  Does cat food supply him with all the nutrients he needs or is there a lack of care that goes into the product.  This idea makes me want to reevaluate what I am feeding to Neo.  You can often times see the advertisement for dog food that has everything the dog needs to be very healthy, but I want to know if they make it for cats as well.  I wonder if canned cat food is better or worse for the animal compared to hard cat food.  Their are many questions I can ask about my pet’s food, but I think the best thing I could do is research it instead.

Leave a Reply

